2017 OSBA Media Honor Roll

OSBA thanks the many districts that took part in this year’s Media Honor Roll program. Winners are listed below and in the October OSBA Journal magazine.

Personalized certificates and a copy of the October Journal are being mailed to school districts to enable school boards to present them to winners at a November board meeting. OSBA also has prepared a sample board resolution and a sample news release to help you recognize your honorees. Click on the links on the right side of this page to download the resolution and news release.

The purpose of the OSBA Media Honor Roll is to recognize journalists and news outlets that provide fair and accurate coverage of public schools. Participation in the program helps school districts create and maintain positive working relationships with their local news media. Those relationships help ensure fair, balanced reporting, along with continuing community support.

The OSBA Media Honor Roll recognizes media representatives in print, radio and television. Winners are chosen because they:

• work to get to know the superintendent, board president and district communication director, as well as the district’s mission and goals;

• report school news in a fair, accurate and balanced manner;

• give a high profile to positive news about schools;

• visit schools;

• maintain a policy of “no surprises,” by always giving school officials the opportunity to comment on information to be aired or published.

Districts were invited to select as many journalists that they felt were deserving of this statewide honor. Below are the members of the 2017 OSBA Media Honor Roll, followed by the school districts that nominated them.

   Jaime Anton, North Royalton Post, North Royalton City

   Chris Balusik, Chillicothe Gazette, Chillicothe City

   Kirsten Barnhart, Van Wert Times Bulletin, Lincolnview Local (Van Wert)

   Glenn Battishill, The Delaware Gazette, Delaware Area Career Center

   John Benson, The Gazette Newspapers, Independence Local (Cuyahoga)

   Vicki Black, Sycamore Living, Indian Hill EV

   Nancy Bowman, Troy Daily News, Milton-Union EV; Troy City

   Sam Boyer, Brunswick Sun Times, Brunswick City

   Jennifer Brindisi, WFMJ-TV, Austintown Local (Mahoning)

   Terry Brlas, The Strongsville Post, Strongsville City

   BroadView Journal, North Royalton City

   Phillip Buffington, The Telegram, Jackson City; Wellston City

   Emily Canning-Dean, The Post, Wadsworth City

   Barbara Christian, Chagrin Valley Times, Chagrin Falls EV

   Michael D. Clark, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Middletown City

   Tom Cole, Buckeye Cable Sports Network/Buckeye Broadband, Springfield Local (Lucas)

   Ben Coll, The Weekly Villager, James A. Garfield Local (Portage)

   Todd Compston, The Telegram, Jackson City

   Clint Corpe, WBGU Radio, Bowling Green City

   Jonathan Delozier, The Wellington Enterprise, Wellington EV

   Jenny Derringer, The Crescent-News, Defiance City

   Anna DeWine-Bolton, Xenia Daily Gazette, Greene County Career Center

   Jane Ernsberger, Willard Times-Junction, Willard City

   David Evans, AVC Communications, Caldwell EV

   Mark Fortune, Coshocton Beacon, River View Local (Coshocton)

   Cecilia Fox, Troy Daily News, Milton-Union EV

   Thomas Gallick, ThisWeek Community News, Delaware Area Career Center; Olentangy Local (Delaware)

   Dave Gossett, Herald-Star, Jefferson County ESC

   Moira Granger, Indian Hill Living, Indian Hill EV

   Scott Halasz, Xenia Daily Gazette, Xenia Community City

   Linda Hall, The Daily Record, Triway Local (Wayne)

   Tina Heiberg, Wadsworth Community Radio, Wadsworth City

   Tremayne Hogue, Dayton Daily News, Oakwood City

   Martha Jacob, Brown County Press, Fayetteville-Perry Local (Brown); Western Brown Local (Brown)

   Martha Jacob, Brown County Press, Western Brown Local (Brown)

   Joe Jastrzemski, Wadsworth Community Radio, Wadsworth City

   Ruth Jellison, The Journal & Noble County Leader, Caldwell EV

   Deanne Johnson, Morning Journal, Columbiana County Career & Technical Center

   Scott Jones, The Jackson County Times-Journal, Jackson City

   Gloria Kacik, Royalton Recorder, North Royalton City

   Krista Kano, Chagrin Valley Times, Chagrin Falls EV

   John Karlovec, Geauga Maple Leaf, Berkshire Local (Geauga); Chagrin Falls EV

   Beverly Keller, The Budget, Garaway Local (Tuscarawas)

   Jeremy Kelley, Dayton Daily News, Milton-Union EV

   Kevin Kelley, West Life News, Fairview Park City

   Jeff Kelly, WPKO Radio, Riverside Local (Logan)

   Jan Larsen-McLaughlin, BG Independent News, Bowling Green City

   Maria Lindsay, South Side News Leader, Springfield Local (Summit)

   Mandy Loehr, Bellefontaine Examiner, Riverside Local (Logan)

   Billy Ludt, The Vindicator, Austintown Local (Mahoning)

   Maria Magnelli, Royalton Recorder, North Royalton City

   Joyce McFadden, The Gazette Newspapers, Independence Local (Cuyahoga)

   Bob McLimans, WNDH Radio, Patrick Henry Local (Henry)

   Geoff Mears, WDPN Radio, Marlington Local (Stark)

   Jason Mikell, Your Hometown Lima Stations, Lima City

   Beth Mlady, Cleveland.com/Sun News, Berea City

   Dave Mosier, The Van Wert Independent, Crestview Local (Van Wert); Lincolnview Local (Van Wert)

   Carolynn Mostyn, The Suburbanite, Springfield Local (Summit)

   Eddie Mowen Jr., The Register-Herald, Preble County ESC

   Michele Murphy, The Press, Sheffield-Sheffield Lake City

   Caitlin Nearhood, Sandusky Register, Huron City

   Neighborhood News, Independence Local (Cuyahoga)

   Jim Otte, WHIO-TV, Oakwood City

   Debbie Rogers, Sentinel-Tribune, Lake Local (Wood)

   Jonah Rosenblum, The Record Courier, James A. Garfield Local (Portage)

   ScripType Publishing, Independence Local (Cuyahoga); North Royalton City

   Dave Sess, WKBN-TV, Austintown Local

   Chelsea Shar, The Alliance Review, Marlington Local (Stark)

   Jeremiah Shaver, The Jackson County Times-Journal, Wellston City

   Don Sloan, WTOV-TV, Jefferson County ESC

   Sarah Sole, Dublin Villager, Dublin City

   Nancy Spencer, Delphos Herald, Ottoville Local (Putnam)

   Kristen Spicker, The Daily Jeffersonian, Caldwell EV

   Polly Steffen, GeaugaNews.com, Chagrin Falls EV

   Tom Stugmyer, Wadsworth Community Radio, Wadsworth City

   Felicia Tackett, The Jackson County Times-Journal, Jackson City

   Hannah Taulbee, The Logan Daily News, Logan-Hocking Local (Hocking)

   Marie Thomas, Sentinel-Tribune, Bowling Green City

   Red Thompson, The Telegram, Jackson City

   The Times Bulletin, Crestview Local (Van Wert)

   Trista Thurston, Lancaster Eagle-Gazette, Lancaster City

   Kennedy Webb, WTNS Radio, River View Local (Coshocton)

   Christine Darling Weiss, Best Version Media, Chagrin Falls EV

   Larry Weiss, WBGU Radio, Bowling Green City

   Heather Willard, Sidney Daily News, Hardin-Houston Local (Shelby)

   Pete Wilson, The Telegram, Jackson City; Wellston City

   Ann Wishart, Geauga Maple Leaf, Berkshire Local (Geauga)

   WTOV-TV, Steubenville City

   Melanie Yingst, Troy Daily News, Troy City

   Michelle Zivoder, The Weekly Villager, James A. Garfield Local (Portage)


Please contact Senior Editorial Manager Gary Motz for questions about the program. He can be reached at (614) 540-4000, (800) 589-OSBA or gmotz@ohioschoolboards.org.