Legislative Issues

The association maintains a high profile at the state and federal levels. OSBA lobbyists attend General Assembly hearings, as well as all meetings of legislative committees that consider bills affecting education. In addition, they meet with state legislators regularly to advise them of association positions.

Members can stay up-to-date on important legislative issues in a variety of ways:

Track important bills with OSBA's BillTracker database

Learn about OSBA's Legislative Platform, which shapes OSBA's stance on legislative activity

Get involved in legislative activities

Stay informed on current legislative activities with Facts-in-a-Flash, OSBA's weekly legislative e-Newsletter.


Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), the main federal law supporting public schools, is intended to support accountability of states, school districts, and schools for improving the academic performance of all.

First enacted in 1965, ESEA was scheduled for reauthorization in 2007. Instead, various provisions were extended through congressional appropriations legislation. In December 2015, Congress passed and the President signed into law the Every Student Succeeds Act as a new reauthorization of ESEA. The signing represents a significant move forward for local governance. Click here for more information on ESSA. 

OSBA/BASA/OASBO held a webinar on April 4 on ESSA - What you need to know.  To listen to the webinar go to: http://osba.adobeconnect.com/p3zludokwfw/

The Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission

The Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission is a 32-member commission charged with the responsibility to study the constitution of Ohio and identify and recommend to the General Assembly any desired changes. The Commission was authorized in 2012 and has an expiration date of July 1, 2021.

The Commission consists of twelve (12) members of the Ohio General Assembly, with three each appointed by the Senate President and Senate Minority Leader and three each appointed by the Speaker of the House and the House Minority Leader. The remaining twenty members are members of the general public appointed by a majority vote of the twelve legislative members. 

The OCMC is organized into four standing committees and six subject matter committees. Of key importance to educators is the Education, Public Institutions, Miscellaneous and Local Government Subcommittee, which hears testimony and offers recommendations on K-12 education. Members of this committee are:

Chad A. Readler, Chair, Chad.Readler@ocmc.ohio.gov

Edward L.Gilbert, Vice-Chair, Edward.Gilbert@ocmc.ohio.gov

Roger Beckett, Roger.Beckett@ocmc.ohio.gov

Paula Brooks, Paula.Brooks@ocmc.ohio.gov

Larry L. Macon, Larry.Macon@ocmc.ohio.gov

Bob Taft, Bob.Taft@ocmc.ohio.gov

Pierette Talley, Pierette.Talley@ocmc.ohio.gov

Senator Bill Coley, Sen04@ohiosenate.gov

Rep. Kathleen Clyde, Rep75@ohiohouse.gov

Rep. Matt Huffman, Rep04@ohiohouse.gov

Rep. Vern Sykes, Rep34@ohiohouse.gov

Below is a link to a sample resolution.