Central Region News

The Central Region of the Ohio School Boards Association

Urban School District Advisory Network

OSBA is committed to supporting its urban school district membership.

One effort toward meeting this goal is to create an email network that allows for an open flow of information and the ability to share resources and experiences.

If you belong to one of the 55 districts classified by the Ohio Department of Education as either large or small urban, visit the following link to join the email discussion group:

http://links.ohioschoolboards.org

http://links.ohioschoolboards.org/25140/.

You will receive a confirmation email with a link to allow you to communicate with the group.

For more information, contact OSBA School Board Services Consultant Steve Horton at shorton@ohioschoolboards.org



Stand Up for Public Schools

Central Region, let's raise awareness about the importance of public education and locally elected boards of education! It's easy to promote your work and your district. The Stand Up for Public Schools campaign website, www.standupforOHpublicschools.org, features stories that highlight extraordinary public schools, students and graduates.

Use the convenient online submission form (www.standupforohiopublicschools.org/submit-your-success-story/) to submit stories, photos and videos. OSBA is cross-promoting the submissions in its publications and social media outlets.

Save the Date!

Board President Workshop

January 31
OSBA, Columbus
9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
\$165

Fall Conference

September 30 Villa Milano 5:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. \$40 per person



Fall Conference Awards

Exemplary Employees

Hugh W. Garside, Jr., South-Western City
Kay Eclebery, Granville EV
Aaron Johnson, Fairbanks Local (Union) and Jonathan Alder
Local (Madison)
Sandee Donald, Columbus City
Joanne Morbitzer, Marysville EV
Roberta Williams, Fairfield County ESC
Jo Lynn Torbert, Licking Valley Local (Licking)

Friend of Public Schools

Donnie Ridgeway, North Union Local (Union)
Charlie Scherer, Union Scioto Local (Ross)
Larry Phelps, Fairbanks Local (Union)
Patrick Losinski, Columbus City
Laurie Gallwitz, East Knox Local (Knox)
Bruce Daniels, Marysville EV
Deb Papesh, Dublin City
Michelle Pressdee, Lancaster City
Robert Montagnese, Licking County ESC

Outstanding School Board Member

Cindy E. Crowe, Westerville City

Outstanding Teachers

Kellie Ehlers, Worthington City Sarah Kirby, Pleasant Local (Marion) Thomas Gregory, Gahanna-Jefferson City

Milestone Service Awards

Howard Koons, Mid-Ohio ESC and Pioneer Career & Technology Center (35 years)

R. Leroy Bumpus, Centerburg Local (Knox) (40 years)

More photos are available on the OSBA Central Region page at www.ohioschoolboards.org/cr-region. Thank you to OSBA Communication Coordinator Bryan Bullock for photographing the event.



Plan to Attend! Spring Conference is March 11

Join us at Villa Milano for the 2015 Central Region Spring Conference. We will honor outstanding districts and instructional programs as well as recognize board members with milestone service years, those who earned the OSBA Award of Achievement and Master Board Member designation.



Dr. Kathy Krendl, president of Otterbein University, will be the keynote speaker. Krendl is recognized for her innovation in education and her progressive thinking. During her tenure as president, she has

led the institution in becoming a university, led its transition to a semester calendar and the

development of new undergraduate and graduate programs including the university's first doctoral program, the doctorate in nursing practice. Additionally, Otterbein has developed programs building on its strengths in the sciences with recent launches of a Zoo and Conservation Science program and a Systems Engineering program.

Moreover, Otterbein now offers summer camps for audiences of all ages, a growing number of hybrid and online courses and opportunities for high school students to earn college credits at a reduced rate through the Otterbein Collegiate Institute.

Plan to bring your entire leadership team to this event. Spring conference promises to be inspiring.

Look for registration details in the upcoming *Briefcase* or download the form on the Central Region page on the OSBA website.

You also may email kmillersmith@ohioschoolboards.org with the required information!

OSBA Book Club A Great Professional Development Opportunity

Consider joining the OSBA Book Club. Membership is *free*, and provides a great networking and professional development opportunity for board members, administrators and staff. Best of all, no travel is involved!

"Improving Schools Through Community Engagement," by Kathy Garner Chadwick, will be the subject of our coming discussions.

Three free discussion webinars are scheduled. Webinars are Tuesday, Feb. 10; Wednesday, March 4; and Tuesday, March 24. Each webinar is from 3:30 p.m to 4:15 p.m. Registered members will be sent log-in information for the webinars several days ahead of each planned session.

Information about joining the book club and purchasing the book may be found at www.ohioschoolboards.org/osba-book-club.



Ohio Teacher of the Year Nomination Deadline Nears

Nominations for the 2016 Ohio Teacher of the Year are due March 27, 2015. Forms and all other pertinent information for the award are found on the Ohio Department of Education website at http://links.ohioschoolboards.org/11713. Teachers from Central Region nominated for the award are recognized at our Fall Conference. Nominate your teacher this year!

Central Region board members – you are appreciated!

Central Region Executive Committee Here to Serve You!

Dr. Marguerite Bennett

Mount Vernon City & Knox County Career Center

President

Kevin Crosthwaite North Union Local (Union) President–elect

Randy Reisling
South-Western City
Past President

Kevin Archer, Teays Valley Local (Pickaway)
Walter Armes, Whitehall City
Ed Bischoff, ESC of Central Ohio/Delaware ACC
Renda M. Cline, Mansfield City
Amy Eyman, Lancaster City
Joyce Galbraith, ESC of Central Ohio/Eastland –
Fairfield Career & Technical Schools

W. Shawna Gibbs, Columbus City Nancy Everett Hafer, Elgin Local (Marion) Stu Harris, Dublin City Howard Koons, Mid-Ohio ESC & Pioneer CTC Dennis Leader, Mid-Ohio ESC, Tri-Rivers Career Center & Pioneer Career Center Jennifer Lynch, Washington Court House City Jane McGinty, Madison Local (Richland) Adam Miller, Grandview Heights City Ken Morlock, Madison-Plains Local (Madison) Kevin O'Brien, Olentangy Local (Delaware) Lee Schreiner, South-Western City Ray Storts, *Union Scioto Local* (Ross) Judy White, Lakewood Local (Licking) Charlie Wilson, Worthington City Kim Miller-Smith, Regional Manager