President: Karen Dendorfer President-elect: Susie Lawson Immediate P

Trustees: Denise Baba, Thomas F. Brophey, John W. Halkias, Robert M. He Stuart Executive Committee: Cheryl Basista, Mary L. Bryner, Heidi Dolezal, Larry George, Sally Green, Albert Haberstroh, Anton M. Hocevar, Dave Hofer Brenda Kimble, Vella King, Linda Kramer, Susan Giannetti Longacre, Donald J Diane Thomas, Larry Walton, Sue Williams



Regional Manager: Reno Contipelli, rcontipelli@ohioschoolboards.com or (216) 288-1704

Northeast Regional Update

Thanks to the over 160 school officials that attended the spring conferences at Trumbull Career & Technical Center and Parma Senior High. Congratulations to all the veteran board members, Award of Achievement winners, Teacher of the Year nominees and Ohio Department of Education award schools. The highlight of the night was Northeast Region President Karen Dendorfer presenting former Congresswomen Mary Rose Oakar with the Northeast Region President's Award.

On July 7, the Northeast Region held the fourth-annual Lester Marrison Book Grant fundraiser with the Lake County Captains. We had over 130 school officials in attendance and raised over \$1,200 at the 50/50 raffle. Thanks to all who bought tickets, and Northeast Region Immediate Past President Terry Groden and Anton M. Hocevar for selling the raffle tickets.

The Northeast Region had over 90 school officials and families attend the Cleveland Indians game on Aug. 18. Too bad we lost. Stop by the Region Resource Center at the OSBA Capital Conference as we raffle off two tickets for next year's "OSBA with Indians" game.

On Aug. 28, the Northeast and Southeast Regions held their secondannual joint open house, at the Coshocton County Career Center. Thanks to Southeast Regional Manager Paul D. Mock for organizing, and OSBA Lobbyist Will Schwartz and Deputy Director of Board and Management Services Teri Morgan for sharing some professional development.

The fall conference is Oct. 3 at the Galaxy Banquet Center in Wadsworth. Hope you can attend!

Save the Dates:

- Sept. 25 Legislative Breakfast, Cuyahoga Valley Career Center
- Oct. 3 Northeast Region Fall Conference, Wadsworth
- Nov. 10 Northeast Region Executive Committee meeting, Columbus



Northeast Regional Manager Reno Contipelli, left, and Steve Remias, Geauga County ESC, right, congratulate Nicholas Stupha of Cardinal High School on winning the 2018 Lester Marrison Book Grant.



Berea City board member Steve Dockman, left, enjoys the OSBA day with Cleveland Indians with Northeast Regional Manager Reno Contipelli.

Around the Region



Above from left: Kevin P. Harvey, Strasburg-Franklin Local (Tuscarawas), receives the OSBA Award of Achievement; Dr. Patricia Hoyson, Jefferson Area Local (Ashtabula), receives the 15-year Veteran Board Member certificate; and Larry Walton, East Liverpool City, is recognized in the local paper for his Award of Achievement.

Left: Donna Zuga, Lakeview Local (Trumbull), is recognized for 20-years of service.

Right: Dick Marshall, Garaway Local (Tuscarawas) and Buckeye Career Center, is honored for 15 years of service.





At the Indians game

Left: Brenda Kimble, Youngstown City; and Michele Elba, Warrensville Heights City.

Right: Thomas F. Brophey, Wellsville Local (Columbiana).

Left: Terry Groden, North Olmsted City.

Right: Carol Fortlage, ESC of Northeast Ohio, and Russell G. Fortlage, Cuyahoga Valley Career Center.











Heard nominated to be 2019 region president-elect

Robert M. Heard Sr., Cleveland Municipal, was unanimously selected by the regional nominating committee and executive committee to be the region's 2019 president-elect. Heard has served on the NSBA Advocacy committee, OSBA Charter School Task Force and OSBA Board of Trustees. He will be formally selected at the fall conference.

ODE honors top teachers in the region

The 2019 Teacher of the Year nominees from the State Board of Education districts were announced, and we proudly congratulate the following teachers from the Northeast Region; Chef Chris Olszewski, Polaris Career Center; David Kaser, Barberton City's Barberton High School; Michele Monigold, Jackson Local's (Stark) Jackson High School; Lisa Wolfe, Indian Valley Local's (Tuscarawas) Indian Valley High School; and Catherine Duplisea, Cleveland Municipal's Orchard Stem School. All teachers will be honored at the 2019 Northeast Region Spring Conference.





President' s message

Welcome back to school! As fall approaches, the annual region Fall Conference will be at the Galaxy Banquet Center in Wadsworth on Oct. 3. We will have updates from OSBA staff, legislative items, and current legal issues as well as honor top school officials in the region. Stop by the Region Resource Center at the Capital Conference, where we again will raffle off next year's Cleveland Indians and Lake County Captains game tickets. We also will continue the tradition of having two 2019 spring conferences at Wayne County Schools Career Center and Trumbull County.

We need you!

The Northeast Region is comprised of 19 counties, and we try to have one board member from each county as part of the region executive committee. If you are in Jefferson, Harrison or Carroll Counties and would like to serve, contact Northeast Regional Manager Reno Contipelli at <u>rcontipelli@ohioschoolboards.or</u> or stop by the Region Resource Center at the Capital Conference in November.

