## **Ohio School Boards Association**

8050 North High Street, Suite 100 Columbus, OH 43235-6481 (614) 540-4000 • fax (614) 540-4100 www.ohioschoolboards.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Sept. 24, 2019
For more information contact:
Paul D. Mock
OSBA southeast regional manager
(740) 385-5240
pmock@ohioschoolboards.org

## OSBA Southeast Region to host fall conference in Logan

LOGAN — Nearly 150 school board members, administrators, staff, students and guests from around southeastern Ohio are expected to meet at Logan High School Sept. 26 for the Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA) Southeast Region Fall Conference. The high school is in the Logan-Hocking Local School District in Hocking County.

The conference will feature updates from OSBA officers and staff and a number of awards and recognitions. The region will recognize new school board members, superintendents and treasurers; exceptional board members; and exemplary students, student programs, administrators, faculty, business leaders and a volunteer and classified staff member. The region also will honor Ohio Department of Education Purple Star Award schools. The award recognizes schools that show a major commitment to students and families connected to the nation's armed forces.

Special awards will include the Southeast Region Advocate of Education Hall of Fame Award, which will go to Dr. Barbara A. Hansen for her dedication to K-12 and postsecondary education and community service agencies in southeast Ohio. The Southeast Region Outstanding School Board Member Award will be presented to Ken Blood, a veteran board member in the East Muskingum Local School District in Muskingum County. Ruth Ware, a curriculum consultant at Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center, will receive the region's President's Award, which honors individuals who have shown an unwavering commitment to public education and the children in southeast Ohio.

For more information on the awards and recognitions, contact Southeast Regional Manager Paul D. Mock, whose phone number and email address are listed above.

Eighteen counties comprise the OSBA Southeast Region: Athens, Belmont, Coshocton, Gallia, Guernsey, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Morgan, Muskingum, Monroe, Noble, Perry, Pike, Scioto, Vinton and Washington. The other OSBA regions are Central, Northeast, Northwest and Southwest.

Founded in 1955, the Ohio School Boards Association leads the way to educational excellence by serving Ohio's public school board members and the diverse districts they represent through superior service, unwavering advocacy and creative solutions.