AASPS Annual Conference Business Meeting May 19, 2016 Chicago, Illinois

1. Call to Order

Nancy Bohl, AASPS President, called the meeting to order at 10:15 a.m.

2. Approval of 2015 Minutes

Allison Schafer moved and Peggy Holstedt seconded the motion to approve the minutes from the June 10, 2015, meeting in Asheville, North Carolina; motion carried unanimously.

3. Old Business

a. Thanks to sponsors: Nancy Bohl thanked the sponsors for the 2016 Annual Conference, which included MicroScribe Publishing, Inc.; NaviGate Prepared; Ameresco, Inc.; Stifel; and Content Technology Solutions (CTS).

b. Website update: Nancy Bohl explained that (CTS) updated the AASPS.org website, which houses relevant documents, including past minutes.

c. NSBA Connect: Nancy Bohl encouraged everyone to update the NSBA Connect list serve with current information and a picture.

4. New Business

a. Announcements: The Illinois Association of School Boards had several announcements. Nancy Bohl, Policy Consultant and AASPS President, will retire September 30, 2016. Melinda Selbee, General Counsel, will retire July 1, 2016, and the position will be filled by Kimberly Small. Anna Lovern, Director, will retire in December 2016.

b. Proposed Bylaw Revision: Nancy Bohl reviewed the proposed bylaws changes, which clarified officer roles, including that the President will be responsible for managing all documents on the AASPS website with the assistance of David Snowden from CTS. The Secretary is responsible for providing draft minutes to the President for posting. The Immediate Past President is responsible for providing a summary of the conference to the President for posting. Another clarification gives the President the authority to determine the time and place of the annual professional and business meeting, as long as the dates do not conflict with NSBA or COSA events.

Janine Murphy moved and Julie Slavens seconded the motion to approve the bylaws changes; motion carried unanimously.

c. Election of Officers: Janine Murphy, Nominating Committee Chair and Immediate Past President, thanked Nancy Bohl for her service as AASPS President and IASB for the association's hospitality in hosting the 2016 conference. Janine Murphy presented the slate of officers:

- President: Kenna Haycox, Ohio School Boards Association
- President Elect: Carolyn Counce, Texas Association of School Boards

- Secretary: Chris Thomas, Arizona School Boards Association
- Immediate Past President: Janine Murphy, North Carolina School Boards Association (will serve for a second year due to retirement of Nancy Bohl)

Kelli Hopkins moved and Tiffany Richardson seconded the motion to approve the slate of officers; motion carried unanimously.

d. Conference Evaluation: Nancy Bohl stated that a conference evaluation would be posted to the NSBA Connect list serve asking attendees for feedback on the conference and asking others why they did not attend.

e. Conference 2017: Kenna Haycox distributed a flyer for the 2017 AASPS conference. The Ohio School Boards Association will host the conference, scheduled to be held June 12-14, 2017, in Columbus, Ohio. Kenna urged attendees to begin thinking about presentation ideas and topics.

5. Adjourn

Nancy Bohl thanked everyone who presented and all attendees. Tiffany Richardson made a motion to adjourn and Donn Williams seconded; motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Counce, AASPS Secretary Director, Policy Service, Texas Association of School Boards